Image

Garibaldi Rous, Sweet Natured, Gentle Capybara. Capybaras are The Most Adorable Animals in the World

 

Garibaldi Rous:    Enchanting Capybara

Garibaldi Rous Waiting for Me!

Garibaldi Rous Waiting for Me!

Gari

Gari

It would be hard to find a more sweet natured capybara than Gari. As his owner Melanie frequently says “Gari does not have a mean bone in his body”.   He is the perfect pet capybara:  he never bites, he does his poohs in the bowl where he is supposed to, he does not make messes around the house.   He is very gentle, gentle enough that you can swim in the pool with him, which is not true of most capybaras. He doesn’t pooh in his pool. My enduring regret is that I was not looking for a pet capybara when Gari was born. I also regret that he is neutered because I would love to have had one of his babies.

 

Capy, Gari's father. An exceptionally friendly capybara. Every time I offered him a handful of grass he got up on his hind legs in the cutest pose to take the grass. I asked if he had been trained to do this but he hadn't. He just went to all that extra effort of his own free will, and he captured my heart!

Capy, Gari’s father. An exceptionally friendly capybara. Every time I offered him a handful of grass he got up on his hind legs in the cutest pose to take the grass. I asked if he had been trained to do this but he hadn’t. He just went to all that extra effort of his own free will, and he captured my heart!

Gari was the first capybara I met.  I had only seen capybaras at a distance when visiting zoos. I adored him from the moment I saw him and I feel very privileged that he really seemed to like me. He is the only capybara who sits on my lap, and he is the only capybara I’ve kissed!

Paradise is having a capybara sitting on your lap looking very happy. Swimming with Gari is addictive. Even though my arms are pathetically weak, and I can’t spin him many times over, the way everyone else does, he still comes back to me for more.

Gari is so gentle in the pool; most capybaras are too aggressive when they play in the pool, it would be dangerous for a person to join them in their pool. He never does his poohs in the pool.

Gari is so gentle in the pool; most capybaras are too aggressive when they play in the pool, it would be dangerous for a person to join them in their pool. He never does his poohs in the pool.click cancel

That I am passionate about capybaras is mainly due to Gari. For me there is no more desirable animal in the world, no other animal even comes close. And of course I prefer capybaras to many people.

Swimming With Garibaldi ROUS is an Amazing and Addictive Experience

Swimming With Garibaldi ROUS is an Amazing and Addictive Experience

Gari was described by his breeder as the friendliest baby capybara in his litter. What turned the friendliest capybara into a capybara who is wary of strangers? Gari is still very friendly, but only after he has appraised you and reassured himself that you wish him no harm.

Baby Garibaldi Rous, just a few days old. He is the one wearing the star. His breeder took this photo.. His breeder described Gari as the smallest and friendliest in his litter

Baby Garibaldi Rous, just a few days old. He is the one wearing the star. His breeder took this photo.. His breeder described Gari as the smallest and friendliest in his litter

Gari definitely has a sense of humour, and often a mischievous one

Garibaldi Rous in the pool

We don’t really know what his life with his previous owner was like. The fact that she wanted to get rid of him and asked Kapi’yva, his breeder, to take him back, suggests his start in life was not happy. Gari, it seems, was not loved. It breaks my heart to think of this, as Gari more than any other capybara deserves to be loved. He is so well behaved he really deserves the very best in life.

So Sweet and Innocent

So Sweet and Innocent

Melanie had chosen the shortest flight for his journey from Ohio to Austin. Unfortunately his owner in Ohio missed the flight!   Gari ended up going on an epic 12 hour journey by air, with a transit in Atlanta. The endless vibrations of the aircraft, with two landings and takeoffs and the pressurisations these entailed , terrified poor Gari, all alone in his cage, confused and bewildered. An experience like this will leave permanent changes in the brain and I believe Gari may still be suffering from PTSD, which is why he is so frightened of going out in the car.

I love the way he curls his paw

I love the way he curls his paw

Gari is the sweetest, most gentle Capybara.  He never bites, even in situations where I would bite.   He is one of the most captivating, perfect living creatures.

Looking So Wise and Winsome

Gari thought my Hat Looked Tasty, He Loves Cotton

Gari is an exceptionally sweet capybara and deserves all the love and happiness he can get.

Gari passed away on Sunday February 16th, 2014.  He was less than 4 years old.   I am absolutely heartbroken.

Gari was the unluckiest capybara.  He was the perfect capybara to be a much loved family member.   All he ever wanted to be was a stay at home pet.

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

//

9 thoughts on “Garibaldi Rous, Sweet Natured, Gentle Capybara. Capybaras are The Most Adorable Animals in the World

  1. Capys are such adorable creatures. They almost don’t look real because if how cute they are. Gari is so special to me as I have followed his blog since he arrived at Melanie’s and I feel like I have watched him grow up.

    Like

  2. That this adorable, lovable, captivating, sweet natured and handsome…..we must NOT forget HANDSOME…. has won the heart of someone so adorable, lovable, captivating, sweet natured and lovely as you Liz, gives us hope that goodness, kindness and love is still alive and flourishing in 2013!

    Like

    • Bonnie thank you very much indeed. Your comments made me very happy. It is thanks to you, and people like you, that (to quote you) we can have some hope that goodness and kindness and love still exists in our world

      Like

Leave a Reply

